Wednesday, December 12, 2007

2007 Wrapped Up

Namoi Valley Archers wrapped a hugely successful 2007 season on Sunday with a twenty target Rabbit Run shoot in the morning followed by the AGM and Presentation of trophies in Sunday evening. The Rabbit Run novelty event proved very popular with the Group One Rabbit target face normally shot at only 7 metres placed on all twenty targets with the longest shot of the day at 48 metres.

The 2007 season results show Namoi Valley Archers club members performed with distinction at National, State and regional level making the club one of the current powerhouses in Australian Field Archery. The club’s performance at the Australian Field Archery Titles held in Wagga Wagga in April resulted in an unprecedented haul of 16 gold, 3 silver and 8 bronze medals with seven club members scoring gold in both the ABA and 3D events. At the NSW State Titles held on the Central Coast over the October long weekend the club again dominated to score a total of 16 gold, 12 silver and 4 bronze medals in the ABA and 3D disciplines. On the local scene the club won both legs of the inaugural Interclub Challenge with the Tamworth club and this rivalry looks set to become one of the most keenly contested events on the club calendar with the Tamworth club’s rapidly improving strength sure to test the Gunnedah club in 2008.

Stuart Dolbel was awarded the prestigious Club Person of the Year trophy for his outstanding efforts in 2007. Dolbel in his role as Range Captain provided club members with quality ranges all year and his imaginative range designs provided a great challenge for archers of all abilities. Dolbel was also heavily involved in club administration in his roles as club treasurer and score recorder as well as providing the club with a first class internet site.

Greg Donovan added his name to the elite group of bowhunters winning the Bowhunter of the Year trophy for the first time. Donovan also win the trophy for best pig while Lloyd Jauja picked up the awards for best goat, hare and fox underling his ability in the field.

Matthew Whitman was awarded the Handicap Shield which goes to the most improved archer of the year. Whitman has worked very hard on his archery in 2007 and has benefited enormously from the help of the club coaches developing into a top class competitor and looks set for a great 2008 season.

Namoi Valley Archers has thrived in 2007 offering members a varied shoot program with plenty of competition through the various divisions and a very enjoyable social atmosphere. To reflect the fun side of the club’s activities the inaugural Party Animal of the Year shield was awarded to Ann Stubbs and Steve Jaeger for the efforts in 2007. Namoi Valley Archers will be resuming activities in February with a big year planned for 2008.

Mens Open - 1st – Stuart Dolbel, 2nd – Steve Jaeger, 3rd – Ben Ireland

Womens Open - 1st – Jodi Dolbel, 2nd– Cassie Ireland, 3rd – Janice Jaeger

Mens Compound - 1st – Wade Hudson, 2nd – Phillip Porter, 3rd – Ken Hill

Womens Compound - 1st – Karen Hudson, 2nd – Ann Stubbs

Bowhunter Limited - 1st – Greg Donovan, 2nd – Cameron Hill, 3rd – Ben Stubbs

Traditional - 1st – Darrell Hudson, 2nd – Peter Stubbs, 3rd – Michael Patrick

Mens Olympic - 1st – Ken Thompson

Junior Boy Open - 1st - Josh Dolbel, 2nd - Matthew Whitman, 3rd – Matt Kersley

Junior Boy Compound - 1st – Keegan Patrick, 2nd – Jarrod Stubbs, 3rd – Hayden Riordan

Junior Girl Compound - 1st – Amy Stubbs

Cub Boy Open - 1st – Sebastian Donovan, 2nd – Matthew Jauja, 3rd – Cameron Boxsell

Cub Girl Open - 1st – Meg Jaeger, 2nd – Jessica Sinclair, 3rd – Sophie Donovan

Cub Olympic - 1st – Shane Thompson

Cub Boy Compound - 1st – Christopher Patrick, 2nd - Brody Waterford

Cub Girl Compound - 1st – Jackelyn Patrick

Cub Girl Traditional - 1st – Samantha Patrick, 2nd – Katie Taylor

Little Archers - Emily Jaeger

Encouragement Awards - James Boxsell, Jackson Howes

Club Person of the Year – Stuart Dolbel

Handicap Shield – Matthew Whitman

Party Animal of the Year – Ann Stubbs & Steve Jaeger

Bowhunter of the Year – Greg Donovan
Goat – Lloyd Jauja
Pig – Greg Donovan
Hare – Lloyd Jauja
Fox – Lloyd Jauja