Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Club Presentations

Namoi Valley Archers wound up a very successful 2005 with their AGM and presentation of trophies at a function at the PCYC. Strong attendances at club events, the hosting of the Branch ABA and IFAA Championships and outstanding participation at National, State and Branch tournaments has reinforced the club’s reputation as among the best in NSW. The highlight for the year was the performance of club members at the Australian Championships with Ben Ireland (Freestyle Unlimited) finishing as the overall ABA Sighted Champion, Steve Jaeger (Freestyle Limited) and Sam Bates (Junior Freestyle Unlimited) finishing as Australian champions in both the ABA and 3D events. In 2005 the club continued its long association with PCYC Indoor Archery program providing two qualified coaches and a safety officer for the Thursday night activities and the club will be continuing this association again in 2006.

2006 is shaping as very big year for archery with the club hosting the NSW State IFAA Championships in May and the Northern Branch ABA Championships in August. The World Field Archery Championships are to be held in Australia for the first time since 1989 and a strong contingent from the club will be making the trip to Hervey Bay in June to compete with archers from all over the world.

The prestigious Club Person of the Year was awarded to Steve Jaeger for his fantastic efforts as club range captain and PCYC safety officer. Namoi Valley Archers has an unequalled reputation for the imagination and quality of the ABA, IFAA and 3D ranges it offers and much of the credit for this goes to Jaeger who has put in countless hours of behind the scenes effort. Despite this effort Jaeger still finds time to be a top class competitor retaining his Australian ABA title for the third consecutive year and adding the Australian 3D crown to his trophy cabinet. In a night to remember Jaeger also finished the year as the club’s overall highest point scorer and winner of the ultra competitive Open Division relegating last year’s winner Ben Ireland, to second place with John Clark finishing third.

In the Mens Compound division Ken Thompson finished the year with the number one ranking after a titanic struggle with Phillip Porter who had held the top spot since 1999. In a season where fortunes fluctuated all year both archers accumulated over 13,000 points for the season ultimately being separated by just 30 points. The consistent Steve Woodward held off a raft of challengers to grab third place in a keenly contested division.

The club has been nurturing some outstanding junior talent including Wade Hudson who had a stellar 2005 season emerging as one the best barebow archers in NSW and Josh Dolbel was another to shine as he developed into a major force during the year at both National, State and Branch level. The Dave Dickson Shield was awarded to Sebastian Donovan as the most improved archer in the club and this outstanding young archer had a wonderful season and looks set to be a major threat at any event he contests in 2006.

Results for 2005

Mens Open – Steve Jaeger 1, Ben Ireland 2, John Clark 3.

Womens Open – Cassie Neuendorf 1, Jodi Dolbel 2.

Mens Compound – Ken Thompson 1, Phillip Porter 2, Steve Woodward 3.

Womens Compound – Karen Hudson 1, Helen Woodward 2.

Mens Bowhunter Limited – Stuart Dolbel 1, Greg Donovan 2, Scott Porter 3.

Womens Bowhunter Limited – Norma Culley 1, Lisa Buckingham 2.

Traditional – Darrell Hudson 1, Michael Patrick 2, Peter Stubbs 3.

Junior Open – Josh Dolbel 1, Robbie Porter 2, Cameron Hill 3.

Junior Boys Compound – Wade Hudson 1, Keegan Patrick 2, Damian Woodward 3.

Junior Girls Compound – Stacey Woodward 1, Jodi Buckingham 2.

Junior Olympic – Sam Bates 1.

Cub Boys Open – Sebastian Donovan 1, Matthew Jauja 2.

Cub Girls Open – Emelia Dolbel 1.

Cub Olympic – Shane Thompson 1.

Cub Traditional – Jackelyn Patrick 1, Meg Jaeger 2, Georgia Buckingham 3.

Cub Compound – Michael Romer 1, Shaun Boyd-McCaw 2, Christopher Patrick 3.

Little Archers – Sophie Donovan, Krystal Juaja.

Bowhunter of the Year – Phillip Porter
Junior Bowhunter of the Year – Josh Dolbel
Goat – Ben Ireland
Pig – Greg Donovan
Fox – Phillip Porter
Hare - Ken Thompson
Rabbit - Matt Krug

Sunday, December 04, 2005

3 Arrow Round To Finish The Year

The Namoi Valley Archers finished the year with the crowd favourite, a quick three arrow all count on the outback range. The range was a picture after recent rain, the coarse will need some attention before shooting starts again next February.

Phillip Porter was the exceptional shooter for the day, blazing the trail home with a club record breaking 1000, not bad for a bare bower. Shane Thompson was also on the game, smashing his old cub boy olympic style record.


Jodi Dolbel 820 Womens Open
Karen Hudson 445 Womens Compound
Lisa Buckingham 605 Women Bowhunter Limited
Norma Culley 485 Women Bowhunter Limited
Richard Mather 515 Ungraded
Jarrod Stubbs 245 Ungraded
Amy Stubbs 210 Ungraded
Jemma Boyd-McCaw 160 Ungraded
Darryl Hudson 580 Mens Traditional
Michael Patrick 470 Mens Traditional
Neal Morris 420 Mens Traditional
Peter Stubbs 210 Mens Traditional
John Clark 1150 Mens Open
Steve Jaeger 1095 Mens Open
David Buckingham 1020 Mens Open
Shane Donovan 330 Mens Open
Philip Porter 1000 Mens Compound
Ken Thompson 865 Mens Compound
Col Hall 650 Mens Compound
Ken Hill 565 Mens Compound
Stuart Dolbel 985 Mens Bowhunter Limited
Greg Donovan 835 Mens Bowhunter Limited
Lloyd Jauja 500 Mens Bowhunter Limited
Krystal Jauja 220 Cub Girl Traditional
Jackelyn Patrick 150 Cub Girl Traditional
Sophie Donovan 400 Cub Girl Compound
Samuel Jauja 100 Cub Boy Traditional
Sebastian Donovan 915 Cub Boy Open
Mathew Jauja 805 Cub Boy Open
Shane Thompson 540 Cub Boy Olympic
Shaun Boyd-McCaw 760 Cub Boy Compound
Christopher Patrick 370 Cub Boy Compound
Sam Bates 1135 Boy Junior Open
Josh Dolbel 955 Boy Junior Open
Robbie Porter 895 Boy Junior Open
Cameron Hill 395 Boy Junior Open
Wade Hudson 915 Boy Junior Compound
Jamie Thompson 725 Boy Junior Compound
Ben Stubbs 565 Boy Junior Compound
Keegan Patrick 495 Boy Junior Compound